Check-In: Jan. 21

What I’m working on – I finally finished this!

Listing

A while back, I got the idea to put together little clip art bundles for each of the states. This is number two of fifty. I might have all of them done in a couple decades. To keep interesting, I’m also including a “fun fact” image in each one. This one is the fact that Maryland’s state sport is jousting. My Mississippi fun fact was that teddy bears started here. Man, I love fun facts.

What I’m listening to – Spotify’s David Bowie playlist. I was never the biggest devotee of David Bowie, but I do appreciate him. Listening to this, however, I’m suddenly realizing how much Bowie was involved in my long-ago karaoke nights. It’s making me pretty nostalgic.

What I’m reading – I started Jenny Lawson’s Furiously Happy this week. It’s about dealing with mental illness and it’s also really funny. I’ve never dealt with mental illness myself*, but I know and love people who have. This book is a surprisingly good guide for how to handle and care for people in your life with mental illness. Plus there’s good stories about taxidermied critters if you’re into that.

*I’m not counting the constant undercurrent of anxiety I feel. I’m pretty sure everyone has that. That vibrating tension is what makes us human… right?

What I’m playing – I’m trying to finish up Persona Q. Then I’ve got to finish up Persona 3. And maybe replay Persona 4. Because Persona 5 comes out this year and I’m gonna be ready.

Leave a Reply

