Check-In: Feb. 4

What I’m working on – I got my first custom order on Etsy this week and I got it finished up last night. I also got this new listing up in the shop. More rainbows!

This, however, is what I’ve been trying to put a significant amount of time into:

0204

(Note to self, find a more attractive place to take photos.)

It’s a scarf for my husband. Using this pattern he picked out on Ravelry. And y’all. This scarf is big. I don’t know why I didn’t realize it looking at the pattern. It’s bulky weight yarn on size 10 1/2  needles. The finished measurements even say it’s eleven inches wide. I just didn’t realize the magnitude of this thing until I got the first corner done. Thank goodness I have these super long, hot pink needles I inherited from my Grandma.

Its shawl-like proportions might be just what my husband needs, though. This scarf is meant for frigid northern climes. I originally started it when we were tentatively planning a trip to Chicago this March. Unfortunately, our trip got pushed back to who-knows-when. We’re hoping this winter or early next Spring. We definitely want to go when it’s cold. (He lived in Boston for a while and misses the weather, I just want the change of environmental scenery.)

Living on the sub-tropical Gulf Coast doesn’t give us much use for winter woolies (the Deep South knitter’s lament), so I jumped at the chance to knit us warm things for our vacation. Maybe pushing the trip back a year will give me time to knit my own mega-scarf.

What I’m reading – After I finished Seconds, I jumped right in to Scott Pilgrim. And… it was fine. I didn’t like it as much as Seconds. I did like it enough to speed through the entire series in a matter of days. I think really I just missed my Scott Pilgrim window. I would have been SO into it about ten years ago. I gave it three stars on Goodreads, but maybe four might have been more fair. (I don’t know. I’m not the harshest of critics, a book has to actually offend me before I’ll consider one or two stars.)

I did like comic Scott Pilgrim and Ramona Flowers more than movie Scott Pilgrim and Ramona Flowers. Not that I didn’t like the actors — I think maybe there’s just more room for character growth in the comic. But that’s just a matter of difference in the media.

After I finished that series, I started The Martian. Pretty good so far. It feels a tiny, tiny bit slow right now, but I am just at the very beginning. I think when it gets into full-blown Apollo 13 mode, I’ll be totally on board.

What I’m watching – Still X-Files. Man, I am so happy with the new season.

What’re you working on/watching/wreading?

Leave a Reply

