Laissez les pancakes rouler

I’ve done a lot of Mardi Gras-ing. I’ve probably collected enough beads, cups and doubloons to create a second, slightly smaller trash island in the Pacific. I marched in smaller Mississippi parades when I was in the high school band. I’ve had a few two-day Fat Tuesday adventures in New Orleans.

0209_1

(My last New Orleans Mardi Gras in 2010. I tagged along with the Krewe of Ste. Anne and a whole bunch of people who are way cooler than me for the march from the Bywater to the French Quarter.)

These past few years, however, my husband and I have taken to celebrating a kind of IHOP sponsored Shrove Tuesday rather than Mardi Gras. Mostly because it doesn’t involve standing in the cold for hours or walking for miles. And also you get to eat pancakes.

0209_2

We’ll probably do the parade thing again one year. But for now… mmmm. Pancakes.

Leave a Reply

