Check-In: March 3

What I’m working on – Not a whole lot this week, unfortunately. I got a new desk this weekend, so I lost a couple days at my computer while that was getting put together. And then there’s the REAL reason I haven’t gotten anything done this week… but we’ll get to that later.

What I’m watching – I rented Darby Forever on Monday. It was super cute and super sweet and more than worth the dollar rental fee. I love Aidy Bryant and I love Retta. I want them both to join our book club. Speaking of…

What I’m reading – Book club is back, bitches. I’ve finished this month’s book, Wicked Temper. It’s probably one of the spookiest books I’ve read (not that I’ve read many, but we did read a zombie book for book club.) It’s one of those books that heavy with atmosphere. More than once I had weird, upsetting dreams because of it. But it’s good. I recommend it.

What I’m playing – Okay. Here’s why I haven’t been productive at all this week. I’ve been playing Stardew Valley. I’ve never watched the development of an indie game like I have this one. I was SO excited when I saw it was finally available on Steam.

A screenshot from Stardew Valley
Gettin’ my farm on.

It’s basically a Harvest Moon-esque farm-sim-slash-RPG. But it’s so much better than any Harvest Moon I’ve ever played. It’s a surprisingly large world with more robust gameplay. And it’s exactly the kind of thing that’s in my gaming wheel-house. I’m not a fighter, I’m a resource-managing, tool-upgrading lover. It’s just really sweet and charming and fun. And it was all built by one guy. Craziness.

Leave a Reply

