Check-In: April 7

This is gonna be a pitiful check-in. We’ve been super busy. The husband person’s been working a lot — so much so I can’t remember the last time we had dinner together at home. We’ve also had other things keeping us out of the house when we’re not working. Then on top of that, I use my recent birthday as an excuse to let myself be lazy and eat whatever I want. (And let’s not get into the state of my house.) Anyway… enough of that.

What I’m working on: I’m actually working on a pretty big commissioned illustration. Nothing too polished to show off yet, but if it turns out well it’ll be pretty exciting.

I’m also going to try and get a couple more listings up in the shop by the end of the weekend. (That’s another thing I’ve slacked on lately. Can’t let that momentum die down.)

What I’m watching: So, I’ve been watching a whole lot of RuPaul’s Drag Race. I started with Season 4 (which is the earliest Netflix had, otherwise I would have started at the beginning) and I’m a few episodes into Season 5. I usually haaaaate reality shows. And this one does have a lot of that awful, obviously fake reality show editing — but the people are just so consistently charming and entertaining and creative that it sucked me in.

Thoughts on Season 4: Latrice Royale is my number oneĀ forever. I love Sharon Needles’ humor. And while I didn’t like her on the show, I started following Phi Phi O’Hara on social media after I watched the finale… and I kind of love her now.

Thoughts on Season 5: Rolaskatox! Don’t tell, but I think Alaska’s even funnier than Sharon.

What I’m reading: I’m going to be starting The Bees by Laline Paull. Book club starts in a couple minutes, so we’ll be discussing Wicked Temper. Then it’s my turn to pick our next book. I’m going with The Bees because it’s been on my to-read list for ages AND it’s available at my library. I’ll actually have thoughts on it next week.

Leave a Reply

