Check-In: June 9

What I’m working on: I’ve got a couple irons in the fire. Here’s a little sneak peek at something I’m hoping to have up in the shop this weekend:

0609_3

It’s very fiddly and is taking a while. There might be an easier way to do what I’m doing, but heck if I know what it is.

I’m going to switch gears a little tonight and do something simpler and hopefully have that up in the shop as well. I’m going to try and sprinkle in some quick, simple designs among my more ambitious ones. I don’t want to go too long without putting up new listings. It seems to me that my views on Etsy pick up during those times where I’m actively posting listings. And I don’t want to lose any momentum.

What I’m reading: I checked our latest book club book out of the library more than a week ago, I think, and I still haven’t started it. I’ve gotten terrible about procrastinating on my reading. It doesn’t help that I’m reading so many comics. I’ve put New Mutants aside and I’ve started reading the original Secret Wars because I’m at the point in Uncanny X-Men where that happens.

I’m about to start feeling the anxiety that’s prevented me from reading superhero comics for the past few years. It feels almost impossible to find a self contained story anymore. You have to be keeping up with a half dozen X-Books. Or a handful of Avengers books. And then there are the crossover events with things spread out over ALL the books. Now, I understand I can enjoy the story without EVERY tiny part of it… but I can get kind of a “completion” compulsion. Or maybe it’s a literary FOMO. I don’t know. But all I know is I just wanted to read X-Men from Giant Size #1 and it’s already sent me off on tangents with New Mutants, Secret Wars, and the Wolverine and Magick limited series. And I haven’t even gotten into nearly the quagmire the X-Universe is today. I think I’ll finish Secret Wars, read Uncanny #181 (Young Dragons in Love!) and take a break for a nice novel.

Anyway. Enough about my X-Anxiety. (An-X-iety? I don’t know.)

What I’ve been playing: My husband and I have been playing a lot of  Terraria  together this week. We both like video games, but we rarely play anything together because our tastes don’t overlap in multiplayer games very often. I tend to stick to RPGs, strategy games and simulations. But these open ended building games are perfect. I usually spend my time building houses while he goes out fights things and explores. I join him for a boss fight every now and then, but my main focus is usually interior decoration.

0609_2
That’s me under the blue and green slime banners in the trophy room. My husband is the blue guy in the horned helmet on the roof.
2 thoughts on “Check-In: June 9

    • Annie - Paperdolldigital June 11, 2016 / 2:08 am

      We’ve got it on Steam. And it goes on sale for REAL cheap sometimes. I think I paid less than $5 for it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

